[Free pdf] The Paper & Hearts SocietyAuthor Lucy Powrie – Albawater.co

If you follow my reviews, you will know that I am not flippant when it comes to distributing 5 star reviews, but I absolutely LOVED Lucy s first book The Paper Hearts Society is just the perfect book for bookworms, and should be read by anyone and everyone who is not or is ashamed to be a bit of a book nerd The characters were complex and well developed, especially Cassie, and I fell in love with Olivia s charisma and energy Ed s sense of humour Tabby s prior experiences with bullying a If you follow my reviews, you will know that I am not flippant when it comes to distributing 5 star reviews, but I absolutely LOVED Lucy s first book The Paper Hearts Society is just the perfect book for bookworms, and should be read by anyone and everyone who is not or is ashamed to be a bit of a book nerd The characters were complex and well developed, especially Cassie, and I fell in love with Olivia s charisma and energy Ed s sense of humour Tabby s prior experiences with bullying added an important layer to the novel, and I thought that the portrayal of such was well done I have read a lot of anti bullying fiction and non fiction and the effect which it had had on Tabby was hugely relatable and realistic Tabby s Anxiety was also handled sensitively and, again, realistically it was actually the best portrayal of such that I have seen in YA literature I can t wait to readof the series I was lucky enough to get an early read of this and let me tell you, it is PHENOMENAL.Lucy has created just the most adorable group of book nerds that you just cannot help but fall in love with instantly Tabby as a protagonist instantly gains our trust and empathy and we re rooting for her happiness from the get go The friendship between the characters grows so naturally you don t even notice, but you simultaneously feel as you yourself are a member of the Paper and Hearts Society The bookish I was lucky enough to get an early read of this and let me tell you, it is PHENOMENAL.Lucy has created just the most adorable group of book nerds that you just cannot help but fall in love with instantly Tabby as a protagonist instantly gains our trust and empathy and we re rooting for her happiness from the get go The friendship between the characters grows so naturally you don t even notice, but you simultaneously feel as you yourself are a member of the Paper and Hearts Society The bookish feel in this is also A and I so loved all the bookish references.I have to give an enormous shout out to the anxiety rep in this book, which is frankly one of the best I ve ever seen Having dealt with anxiety, and the feeling of being other myself, I felt so SEEN by this book It made me tear up a little just at how accurate it was.One of my fave things though was that how within this group setting, each character manages to stand out as an individual, how they have their own storylines that you keep you intrigued just as much as their group adventure I m really looking forward to reading the following books in the series to get an insight into the other characters.I also have to mention how sort of TENSE it was The antagonist s thread just kept building and building until I literally couldn t bring myself to read the last 60 odd pages because I knew shit was about to go down and I wanted to protect these lovable characters.This book covers so many important themes with such skill and nuance that I am in awe Lucy s skill certainly shows in every single sentence and I just cannot WAIT for the world to read this book in June This is such a sweet and joyful story about friendship and celebrating your passions especially if your passion is books It explores anxiety and bullying and has a couple of very cute romances too I can t wait to seeof these characters in the sequel especially Ed He s my fave. Gifted A heartwarming, uplifting look at the power of friendship and the dangers of bullying online Tabby stole my heart with her very realistic anxieties, worries and joy of books A UK based summer road trip book that will make you desperate to make a book club of your very own. It is not often that a book makes me cry, and I didn t expect it of this one, but cry I did This book was so real and kept true to teenage life, the ups and the downs It captured me and brought me back to the times where I learnt to become who I am today It is very tough to be in your teen years, there is a lot going on, The Paper Hearts Society doesn t shy away from this Lucy doesn t try to glamorise the moments of our youth, she writes them as they are and creates believable and lovable, It is not often that a book makes me cry, and I didn t expect it of this one, but cry I did This book was so real and kept true to teenage life, the ups and the downs It captured me and brought me back to the times where I learnt to become who I am today It is very tough to be in your teen years, there is a lot going on, The Paper Hearts Society doesn t shy away from this Lucy doesn t try to glamorise the moments of our youth, she writes them as they are and creates believable and lovable, butimportantly real characters.Tabby is the main character, entering into a circle of new friends when she joins The Paper Hearts Society book club She s nervous, she has anxiety and her self confidence is low Basically, she depicts exactly the feeling you get when you have to walk into a new group of people, most of whom are already friends, and say hello It is daunting and terrifying, it is also awkward, but that is okay, because it takes time for it to become normal I think Tabby was written extremely well as a character with all of these worries She was very relatable and very innocent, which made me sad about some of the events in the book that befell her She is surrounded by Olivia, Cassie, Ed and Henry, a group of best friends who are in the book club with her They each offer a different personality with Olivia being energetic and excitable, Cassie being muchprivate and guarded, Ed being open and cheerful and Henry being quiet and kind I love the dynamics of this group and how they all fit together, another example of how, in the real world, not every one of your friends has your exact set of interests I could definitely see where the plot was going with this one, but it was written so well that I didn t mind knowing how it would end up I loved the journey of this book and the style of writing The mention of YA books was really great too, I loved seeing their cameos appear and spotting the titles of books I recognised In the middle of this book, the characters visit Bath and I got very excited I live near to Bath and knew every place the characters were talking about It s not often I can associate so closely with the setting of a book, but I really did feel as though I was there with the characters I had a grin on my face the whole time they were exploring this beautifully bookish city.My final shout out of praise to this book is the mention of demisexuality Never have I read a book before that mentions this term, most people seem to not even have heard of it When I read this I had to text Lucy and thank her for including a wider range of the LGBT spectrum in her book Any form of sexuality was normalised in this book, and apart from demisexual, it didn t need to be highlighted and made a big thing of I m excited to seeandbooks being written like this, finally normalising sexuality for all ages in literature Praise to Lucy Powrie for writing a superb book that really captured my heart 4.5 I feel like this book was written for my 15 years self, who was bullied at school, who didn t yet know she was demisexual, who suffered from anxiety and depression alone, who only wished to have friends who would love to read as much as she did Lucy wrote an amazing story which would have gave my 15 years old self hope for the future, and I can t thank her enough for it.I believe this book could bring hope to any teen out there. 3 5 Overall, I would say this book was enjoyable although it felt as if it was Middle Grade at times, not YA What I enjoyed the most was the nerdiness of the characters and I could definitely relate to them most of the time As a group, they were all really cute but to be very honest, they didn t feel like they were between 15 17 They feltlike 12 13 to me, but that s probably only me Moreover, even though she is going through horrible things that nobody should have to get through, sh 3 5 Overall, I would say this book was enjoyable although it felt as if it was Middle Grade at times, not YA What I enjoyed the most was the nerdiness of the characters and I could definitely relate to them most of the time As a group, they were all really cute but to be very honest, they didn t feel like they were between 15 17 They feltlike 12 13 to me, but that s probably only me Moreover, even though she is going through horrible things that nobody should have to get through, she felt a bit flat for me I could definitely relate to her anxiety, but the way she acted around others did not feel very genuine to me I also wish the bully could have been punished in some ways, that was a lacking element for this story However, I think this book is a very promising debut novel Lucy Powrie is a good writer and she has a lot of potential I think I will pick up her next book because the overall fluffy atmosphere did lift up my spirits My Bookstagram A brand new series from Booktuber Lucy Powrie about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in and let your weird out It s time to join The Paper Hearts Society Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in She doesn t want to go to parties in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite bookIt s like she hasn t found her people Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books What could go wrong EVERYTHING especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her bodyBut Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back Maybe it s the Austen themed fancy dress parties, or Ed s fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward I was in a really bad reading slump at the beginning of the year You know, the kind where you watch Netflix, scroll through Twitter, or do nothing at all, instead of picking up a book Lucy kindly offered to send me her book, The Paper Hearts Society, to help and it worked Continue reading this review over on Pretty Books.gifted Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book for free in exchange for an honest reviewI was in a really bad reading slump at the beginning of the year You know, the kind where you watch Netflix, scroll through Twitter, or do nothing at all, instead of picking up a book Lucy kindly offered to send me her book, The Paper Hearts Society, to help and it worked Continue reading this review over on Pretty Books.gifted Thank you to the publisher for sending me this book for free in exchange for an honest review Full review to come